NYX Liquid Suede Lipsticks

So I have to confess…I tend to be a bit of a snob when it comes to lipsticks. I normally only buy prestige brands. However, back when I was working at Ulta I became fascinated with NYX because of all of the rave reviews I was hearing. I’ve tried NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Creams and High Voltage lipsticks in the past, but I’ve recently preferred obsessed with liquid lipsticks, so I was ready to try something new from NYX.

Purchasing Experience

I went to the NYX store at the Mall of America during the after Christmas sales where I began swatching their Liquid Suede lipsticks. I’ve always wanted to try a bold blue and bright lavender, but I’ve been hesitant to spend the money on a risk. I found three shades I adored! The first one, Jet Set, a deep navy blue and the second, Sway, a very bright lavender and a deep dark violet, Subversive Socialite .screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-12-25-10-pm

As I was walking up to the checkout counter I saw a box of three liquid lipsticks shades including the two shades of purple for only 10$!  Needless to say, my experience at the store was fantastic, I walked out with four brand new shades of lipstick for only 17$, which is cheaper than one single tube of a typical liquid from a prestige brand!

Review

In my experience, the darker the lipstick the more difficult it is to wear, so I tested the toughie first, the deep purple: Subversive Socialite. It definitely is the most similar to one of my favorite lipsticks, Anastasia Beverly Hill’s shade Sad Girl. The first thing I noticed is the coverage of fantastic! It was very easy to apply and only took 1 or 2 coats to get a deep full color.

img_6562This stuff STAYS ON. I’ve always struggled with the infamous “butt-hole lip” when it comes to dark liquid lipsticks. NYX Liquid Suede stayed on all night regardless of all of the food and drinks I inhaled. I only reapplied to touch up my inner lip once, and it was barely noticeable in the first place! In fact, I had to vigorously scrub my lips to get the color off which was almost a downside.

 

My only complaint about the lipstick was the comfort. It was extremely drying on the lips, similar to covering your mouth with tar;however, the mild discomfort is definitely worth it for the color payoff, length of wear and low price.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

